Publication Launch (9 May 2021): Philosophy after Automation

Dialogues on Philosophy and Technology | Research Seminar I

Publication launch of
Philosophy after Automation
special issue of Philosophy Today (Vol.65 No.2)

Sunday, 9th May 2021
8pm Hong Kong / 2pm Paris / 1pm London / 8am New York
Online event, register to join: https://forms.gle/vhhpusEMTwy3RY1a8
The articles are now open access on Philosophy Today until the end of July 2021.

Speakers:
Yuk Hui (Hong Kong)
Katerina Kolozova (Skopje)
Michał Krzykawski (Katowice)
Pieter Lemmens (Nijmegen)
Anna Longo (Paris)
Babette Babich (New York)

For the inaugural event of the Dialogues on Philosophy and Technology research seminar  series, we are pleased to announce the launch of a special issue of Philosophy Today titled “Philosophy after Automation”. It seeks to ask: What is the status of philosophy in the epoch of technological automation? The history of automata in the West can be traced from the ancient Greeks’ automata-slave double to the moderns’ fear of robot revolts, passing by various periods, notably the early modern time closely associated with the mechanism of Descartes and the calculating machine of Leibniz, the cybernetic movement in the 20th century—a history which is often reduced to a simple term “machine”. This long history of technology also leads to what Heidegger calls “the end of Western philosophy”. How then could philosophy reflect on its own condition in view of such an end? “Philosophy after Automation” attempts to resituate philosophy in the history of technological automation and vice versa.

Edited by Yuk Hui with contributions by Hiroki Azuma, Babette Babich, Eduardo Vivieros de Castro, Howard Caygill, Pieter Lemmens, Katerina Kolozova, Michał Krzykawski, Anna Longo, Jean-Luc Nancy, and Bernard Stiegler.

 

 


 

Philosophy Today
Volume 65, Issue 2, 2021

Special Issue:
“Philosophy after Automation”
Guest Editor: Yuk HUI

Table of Contents

Part I: Interventions

Yuk Hui, Philosophy after Automation?

Jean-Luc Nancy, Automation, Alteration

Bernard Stiegler, Elements for a neganthropology of automatic man

Michał Krzykawski, Towards Idiodiversity. Retranslating Cybernetics

Ana Longo, The Automation of Philosophy or the Game of Induction

Babette Babich, On Necropolitics and Techno-Scotosis

Howard Caygill, Heidegger and the Automatic Earth Image

Yuk Hui, On the Limit of Artificial Intelligence

Katerina Kolozova, The artifact of non-humanity: a materialist account of the signifying automaton and its physical support in a fantasized unity

Part II: Dialogues

Pieter Lemmens and Yuk Hui: Landscapes of Technological Thoughts

Eduardo Vivieros de Castro and Yuk Hui: For a Strategic Primitivism

Hiroki Azuma and Yuk Hui: Homo animalis, a Japanese futurism

Philosophy Today :
https://bit.ly/3tf2yfp

Previous Story

Open Call for Research Affiliates

Next Story

Call for Proposals: Kai Wu Studio, 2021-2022

Latest from Events

Slide Slide Slide